Cooked in the Squat.

I’ve been toying around with starting a blog for quite a while now.  I resisted until about a year ago.  So a year ago I set up my account.  I then posted my first entry, which unfortunately turned out to be my last entry!  Time and time again I found myself wanting to go back to the blog.  Frequently I would even log on to my account and…nothing.  I just couldn’ t commit to getting my thoughts on paper (you know what I mean).

When I was in high school I had a very astute math teacher who, to her credit, realized she lost the attention of her students during the final five minutes of class.  She understood that  her students’ minds had already moved on to the next thing, like lunch, and figured that trying to force advanced math to a bunch of inattentive (and hungry) 10th graders would be a waste of her time, and ours.  So, she decided to do something that might ultimately prove more valuable. My teacher started reading from a book called “See You At The Top” by motivational guru, Zig Ziglar.  Everyday we were presented with one of Zig’s gems, often corny, but rife with meaning. 

What I remember most about that book is the story Ziglar told about “getting cooked in the squat.”  In the book he recounted the story of some biscuits that were baked by Maude, the cook of his next door neighbors.  When Zig saw the biscuits, he was struck by how flat they were.  When he asked Maude what happened, she laughed and said, “Well, those biscuits squatted to rise, but they just got cooked in the squat.” 

Am I the only one who has planned, plotted, reviewed my plans, thought about, made lists, put it on my calendar, set my alarm, bought all the materials and supplies necessary to accomplish my goal, in other words, squatted to rise, but then went no further?  My first foray into blogging mirrored a lot of things that I have tried to do in my life.  While I have been successful in some areas, in many areas I have suffered from a lack of follow-through.  (There are many reasons for this;  I’m quite sure I will touch on those in the coming months.) In 10th grade I could relate to getting cooked in the squat; unfortunately, I can still relate today, almost 30 years later. 

I have many goals in life, but one of them is to become a published author.  I can’t tell you how many books and magazines I have about how to write, what to write, how to pitch your writing, etc.  And I cannot tell you how many beautiful pens, notebooks and journals I have purchased as aesthetic encouragement for my endeavor.  Five years ago I even purchased a MacBook as my dedicated writing computer.  It was my “Happy Birthday to Me, You’re 40 and Fabulous!” present.  Okay, so now I’m 45 and all I’ve composed on that computer are emails. (There are reasons for this!  I plan to touch on those in the coming months!)

I recognize that I’ve been getting cooked in the squat…a lot.  Damn near burnt.  This time I’m going to do something about it!  The only way to become a writer is to write, right?  So right now, today, I commit to write something every day.  Well, almost everyday (no need to set myself up for failure–if you have not learned that by 45, you are a failure!).  If I can share something of myself in this blog at least half of the week , I’ll be so happy.  Some entries will be long and others will be short.  And eventually I’ll add photos, too.  I’ll write about my life, my dreams, my family and my loves.  It won’t be perfect, but it will be me. 

I’m really looking forward to this.

6 responses to “Cooked in the Squat.

  1. Hurray! I’m so proud of you! I will definitely check out your posts everyday. Can’t wait to see what comes next.

  2. My excitement for you is actually energizing ME! I read each of your entries and felt inspired and related all too well. I will continue to check your posts and revel in your success – and maybe find inspiration for my own journey (not necessarly writing, but something that has been on my list, but gotten “cooked in the squat”!)

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I am trying to push myself beyond my comfort zone this year. I am humbled that these posts were inspiring to you. Thank you so much for your support 🙂 You’ll have to let me know what you’re working on, so we can encourage each other…

  3. Oh, maybe you’ll even add to my arsenal of incentives to keep working towards my black belt this year, and not give up on the year when I have meetings half the nights that the class meets!

Leave a Reply

